ALCTS E-Forum on Collection Assessment & Evaluation

OK, this is my bad…I neglected to post a message about this prior and now it’s too late.  What can I say?  I dropped the ball and I’m sorry.

Patricia Reese (Assistant Librarian at UNT) and I co-moderated an e-forum hosted by the Association for Library Collections & Technical Services (ALCTS).  This was a two-day discussion on issues related to collection evaluation and assessment.  You can read the archives of our discussion.  We asked a series of key questions, including:

  • What has been your experiences with collection assessment?
  • What methods and measures and tools have you found most useful?
  • How do you assess for curricular needs?
  • How do you evaluate your non-textual collections?
  • Where do you see collection assessment going in the next 5-10 years?

I apologize for not letting you all know about this in advance.  Look for a summary of our discussion in the ALCTS News.

But I did invite Bradley Gulliford from University of Texas at Arlington to join our little group.  I hope he considers sharing some of his ideas and experiences at our next meeting.  

Leave a Reply

